top of page
Search

WHAT A JOURNEY

I started my modelling journey back in 2018, along the way i have met some incredibly talented individuals, including photographers, make up artists and hair stylists and even a wolf.


I have battled depression on and off throughout the years, and have tried to channel this through my modelling, to help me build confidence and distract myself from day to day life. recently my depression and anxiety have taken a huge knock following difficult surgery on my knee. I am lucky enough to have a good friend in Neil from Thetford Photography who has helped me along the way.


I first met Neil during one of my first shoots, at the Weeping Willow. We had a great shoot, getting lots of great relaxed, summer shots. If i had an idea Neil would help bring it too life. He so friendly and laid back it was easy to get some great shots done.


Shortly after our shoot at the Weeping Willow Neil asked me to join him and some great Make up artists on a snow queen shoot in norwich. I was completely transformed (with a lot of white make up & Glitter). Neil once again came completely prepared, with a beautiful snowy back drop and accessories to help complete the look. He gave great direction and made the shoot fun and an amazing experience to be apart of, Even if we were doing a snow queen shoot on the hottest day of the year.


I was having a bad week with my depression and was lacking some confidence and after speaking to Neil about all my ideas he suggested we just went on a last minute shoot at West Stow. We had a lovely morning shoot, as we were trying to beat the heat and sunshine. Bringing my cowboy hat and sunglasses we got some beautiful shots some of which are my favourite.


After a bit of a break, my sister needed a photographer for my beautiful nieces. I was confident in Neil's work and his ability to keep the kids attention. Neil brought bubbles and balloons with him and a beautiful flower mirror. He was amazing at giving the kids time to play and have a break, after all a photo shoot is meant to be fun. the photos were once again beautiful, colourful and showed my nieces true character. These images have become our family's favourite of the girls.


Few Months later me and my sister wanted to give my mum a photograph of us together, as we don't often have family photos together. Who else would i ask but my good friend Neil. We went back to West Stow Me and Neil bounced ideas off each other he even managed to get my sister relax into the shoot. me and my sister made some memories as well as receiving the perfect picture for my mum.


Neil moved into his studio in Thetford just before christmas, I went along to check it out and to help him with christmas photoshoot offer. We transformed the studio into a mini winter wonderland. Beautiful real christmas trees, white snow, presents and a sledge. The christmas shoot was a great success and will only get better year after year i'm sure. Neil spent his time working hard after the shoots to ensure families got their lovely photos before christmas.


Today i popped in to visit Neil in his studio to see what changes have been made, and wow some changes have happened. Yes the Christmas decorations are down but nobody wants a christmas shoot in January. Neil has now got a great studio set up with various backdrops, props and he is full of ideas. We tested out a few of the backdrops with some masquerade headshots.


I have a wonderful friend in Neil and its lovely working with him. I can only recommend him to the highest level. He really is a good laugh and will put you at ease immediately. Its lovely to reflect on mine and Neil's journey over the last few years. Here's to many more Neil!


Thank you for being such a good friend and helping me build my confidence and recognising when i need a friend and a boost.


Love Laura Jayne





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page